R32 or R410A gas: 5 biggest differences

R32 or R410A gas: 5 biggest differences

Rate this post

For a few years now, the world of heat pumps and air conditioning has been revolutionized by this new gas called R32, replacing R410A. Let's see the differences between these two refrigerant gases and what makes R32 a good candidate to replace R410A.

Here are the main differences between the two gases R32 and R410A:

R32R410A
*PRG 675GWP 2087.5
Pure gasMixture 50% R32 + 50% R125
slightly flammable (A2L)not classified as flammable (A1)
the cheapestmore expensive
slightly more efficientless efficient

*Global warming potential (characterizes the potency of greenhouse gases)

We will see that both have their advantages and disadvantages, but that the European F-Gas regulation has chosen to limit the GWP for the future, just as it had at the time chosen to abandon HCFCs and R22.

1. R410A has a GWP 3 times greater than R32

The GWP of R32 between 550 and 675 is 3 times lower than that of R410 of 2087.5.

The GWP is the global warming potential. By convention it is expressed in "CO2 equivalent", and the GWP of CO2 is 1.

As a reminder, there are 3 types of refrigerant gases:

  • CFCs
  • HCFCs
  • HFCs

It is initially the signature by 65 countries of the Montreal Protocol in 1987, revised in 1990, which signs the abandonment of CFCs very dangerous for the ozone layer. As an example the R11 or R12 which are CFCs and have GWP of 4600, and 10900 🤦♂️. Initially planned for 2000, this ban on CFCs was brought forward to 31.12.1995.

These gases are then replaced by HCFCs, such as R22. They are globally less harmful for the environment, with lower GWP on average. The advantage of HCFCs compared to CFCs is that their ODP is negligible (Ozone Depletion Potential = index that characterizes the potential of wear of the ozone layer). R22 is used in many industrial refrigeration or air conditioning appliances in general.

As of January 1, 2010, HCFCs are banned for use. Machines must be serviced with recycled gas only. And since January 1, 2015 it is forbidden to use or introduce HCFCs, even recycled ones, on the market. No more HCFCs.

This was followed by the advent of HFC fluorinated gases, which have no chlorinated molecules, a lower GWP (except for R410A which has a higher GWP than R22), but especially a zero ODP. These gases are R134A, R410A, or R407C. R410A is in many of the most modern machines still today, but it tends to be replaced by the latest F-Gas darling, R32.

The new European regulation of F-Gas, namely n°517/2014 valid since 01.01.2015 has the ambitious goal of reducing greenhouse gases from 80 to 95% by 2050, compared to 1990 data. The ultimate goal is to limit the global temperature increase on the planet to 2°C max.

Specifically in relation to heat pumps and air conditioners, the ban in this Regulation No. 517/2014 concerns bi-block air conditioning systems that contain less than 3kg of gas with a GWP greater than 750, all by January 1, 2025.

Reversible air conditioners for individual housing are directly targeted because they contain less than 3kg of refrigerant in general. Then various heat pumps on the market will also have to evolve following this ban since some contain less than 3kg of R410A whose GWP is well above 750.

As an example, here is the refrigerant charge of some well-known heat pump references:

Heat pump modelFluid typeFluid load (kg)
Daikin Altherma 3 H HTR324.2
AQUAREA HIGH PERFORMANCE
ALL IN ONE" DUO
R410A1.2 à 2.55
NIBE F2120-8 to 20R410A2.4 à 3
Alfea Extensa Duo 5 to 10R410A1.1 à 1.8
Alfea Extensa Duo 5 to 10R320.97 à 1.63

2. R410A is a mixture while R32 is pure

In fact, R32 is already present in R410A which is a mixture between R32 itself at 50% and R125 at 50%. R32 has the same toxicity class as R410A: it is classified as low toxicity.

3. R32 is slightly flammable, not R410A

A disadvantage of R32 compared to R410A is its flammability and toxicity class according to the NIOSH. Indeed, R32 is classified as A2L which means that it is not very toxic but slightly flammable.

source : https://www.lennoxemea.com/fr/a2l-2/


This is not great news as it is planned to be installed in individual housing or ERP.

However, following a modification of article CH 35 of the order of June 25, 1980 by the order of May 10, 2019, it is possible for ERP of cat. 1 to cat. 4 to use flammable fluids provided that a certain number of measures are implemented to control the risk.

source https://entreprendre.service-public.fr/vosdroits/F32351

4. R32 is cheaper than R410A

R32 is available on the market at prices about 20% lower than R410A.

from a dozen kg, in cylinder, R32 costs 20€ / kg, while R410A costs rather 25€ / kg

Here is the example on an online shop : refrigerantboys.com

source : https://www.refrigerantboys.com/
source : https://www.refrigerantboys.com/

5. For the same power, R32 is more efficient

According to a study conducted by the Center for Environmental Energy Engineering, University of Maryland, USA, and published in 2013The use of R32 in a thermodynamic cycle shows a power of 10% higher and a COP of 9% higher compared to the same cycle with R410A.

R32 is therefore an excellent candidate to replace R410A in air conditioning and heat pump applications

R290: the other natural refrigerant gas that replaces R410A

We talk a lot about R32 which, it is true, is already present in many new generation heat pumps for several brands, including Daikin or Atlantic, but other brands such as NIBE the Swedish or Vaillant the German, but also Wolf or Dimplex, have chosen an even cleaner gas. It is a gas that we know well, since it is the R290 also known as propane.

Very used in cylinders to feed a stove for example, it is a liquefied petroleum gas very resistant to cold, but especially much less harmful for the ozone layer than HFCs since its GWP or PRG is 3 and its ODP is 0. NIBE, Vaillant, Wolf and Dimplex, all European, are thus making the choice in favor of the environment, but there is a but.

Indeed, this very interesting gas from an ecological point of view (and economically since it is worth at the writing of this article less than 2€ per kg), is unfortunately even more flammable than R32, since it is classified A3, i.e. highly flammable according to the NIOSH standard quoted above, and thus requires to take more precautions.

Characteristics of natural refrigerant gas R290 or propane

There is also Stiebel Eltron, the great German heat pump specialist, which has decided to use R454C for its HPAs since 01.01.2021. This gas has a GWP of 148, and excellent thermodynamic properties allowing like R290 to make high temperature up to 75°C.

Conclusion

R32, as a new generation HFC, has many advantages that justify its use to replace R410A. Its major disadvantage lies in its flammability, obliging equipment manufacturers to implement reinforced protective measures to avoid any fire and any disaster that could result from it. Japanese and French manufacturers have opted for R32.

However, the European side prefers R290 or propane because it is more environmentally friendly, but also more flammable. Its thermodynamic properties are very good and are close to those of the very widespread gas that was R22 in its time: what pleases the manufacturers.

Research is constantly progressing, and new gases are already being studied, which could prove to be better than R32 or R290, but this has yet to be confirmed. These include DR-55 and DR-5A gases which are HFO HFC blends. These two would present similar performances to the base gas R410A and would have a much lower environmental impact. In fact the possible smooth candidates that are studied to replace the HFC R410A are on this picture below, but for the moment the two most serious seem to be the DR55 and DR5A. Well this DR55 is not so new since it was revealed by the Chemours company in 2015 at the Yokohama summit. But this study has seriously evaluated the possibility of it replacing R410A and being a rival to R32.

en_USEnglish

Gaz R32 ou R410A : 5 plus grandes différences

Gaz R32 ou R410A : 5 plus grandes différences

Rate this post

Depuis quelques années le monde de la pompe à chaleur et de la climatisation est révolutionné par ce nouveau gaz appelé R32, remplaçant du R410A. Voyons les différences entre ces deux gaz réfrigérants et ce qui fait du R32 un bon candidat pour le remplacement du R410A.

Voilà les principales différences entre les deux gaz R32 et R410A :

R32R410A
*PRG 675PRG 2087,5
Gaz purMélange 50% R32 + 50% R125
légèrement inflammable (A2L)pas classé comme inflammable (A1)
le moins cherplus cher
légèrement plus performantmoins performant

*PRG Potentiel de réchauffement global (caractérise la puissance des gaz à effet de serre)

Nous verrons que l’un comme l’autre on leurs avantages et leurs inconvénients, mais que la réglementation européenne F-Gaz a fait le choix de limiter le PRG pour l’avenir, tout comme elle avait à l’époque fait le choix d’abandonne les HCFC et le R22.

1. Le R410A possède un PRG 3 fois plus grand que le R32

Le PRG du R32 entre 550 et 675 est 3 fois plus faible que celui du R410 de 2087,5.

Le PRG est le potentiel de réchauffement global. Par convention on l’exprime en « équivalent CO2 », et le PRG du CO2 vaut 1.

Pour rappel, il existe 3 types de gaz frigorigènes ou réfrigérants :

  • Les CFC
  • Les HCFC
  • Les HFC

C’est dans un premier temps la signature par 65 pays du Protocole de Montréal en 1987, révisé en 1990, qui signe l’abandon des CFC très dangereux pour la couche d’ozone. À titre d’exemple le R11 ou le R12 qui sont des CFC et ont des PRG de 4600, et 10900 🤦‍♂️. Initialement prévue en 2000, cette interdiction des CFC est avancée au 31.12.1995.

Ces gaz sont alors remplacés par des HCFC, comme par exemple le R22. Ils sont globalement moins nocifs pour l’environnement, avec des PRG plus faible en moyenne. L’avantage qu’ont les HCFC par rapport au CFC, c’est que leur ODP est négligeable (Potentiel de déplétion ozonique = indice qui caractérise le potentiel d’usure de la couche d’ozone). Le R22 est utilisé dans de nombreux appareils du froid industriel ou de la climatisation en général.

Depuis le 1er janvier 2010, les HCFC sont interdits à l’utilisation. Les machines doivent être entretenues avec un gaz recyclé uniquement. Et depuis le 1er Janvier 2015 il est interdit d’utiliser ou d’introduire un HCFC, même recyclé, sur le marché. Fini les HCFC.

Ce fut ensuite l’avènement des gaz fluorés HFC, gaz qui n’ont pas de molécules chlorées, un PRG plus faible (sauf le R410A qui a un PRG plus élevé que le R22), mais surtout un ODP nul. Ces gaz sont le R134A, R410A, ou encore R407C. Le R410A est dans de nombreuses machines parmi les plus modernes encore aujourd’hui, mais il tend à se voir remplacer par le dernier gaz chouchou de la F-Gaz, le R32.

Le nouveau règlement européen de la F-Gaz, à savoir le n°517/2014 valable depuis le 01.01.2015 a pour objectif ambitieux la réduction des gaz à effet de serre de 80 à 95% d’ici 2050, en comparaison des données de 1990. Le but ultime est de limiter la hausse de température global sur la planète à 2°C max.

Précisément par rapport aux pompes à chaleur et aux climatisations, l’interdiction prévue par ce règlement n°517/2014 concerne les systèmes de climatisation bi-blocs qui contiennent moins de 3kg de gaz dont le PRG est supérieur à 750, le tout d’ici au 1er janvier 2025.

Les clim réversibles pour l’habitat individuel sont directement visées car elles contiennent moins de 3kg de fluide frigo en général. Puis différentes pompes à chaleur sur le marché devront également évoluer suite à cette interdiction puisque certaines contiennent moins de 3kg de R410A dont le PRG est bien supérieur à 750.

À titre d’exemple, voilà la charge en fluide frigorigène de quelques références connues de pompes à chaleur :

Modèle de pompe à chaleurType fluideCharge fluide (kg)
Daikin Altherma 3 H HTR324.2
AQUAREA HAUTE PERFORMANCE
DUO « ALL IN ONE »
R410A1.2 à 2.55
NIBE F2120-8 à 20R410A2.4 à 3
Alfea Extensa Duo 5 à 10R410A1.1 à 1.8
Alfea Extensa Duo 5 à 10R320.97 à 1.63

2. Le R410A est un mélange tandis que le R32 est pur

En fait le R32 est déjà présent dans le R410A qui n’est autre qu’un mélange entre le R32 lui-même à 50% et le R125 à 50%. Le R32 a ainsi la même classe de toxicité que le R410A : c’est à dire qu’il est classé comme peu toxique.

3. Le R32 est légèrement inflammable, pas le R410A

Un inconvénient du R32 en comparaison du R410A est sa classe d’inflammabilité et de toxicité selon la norme NIOSH. En effet le R32 est classé A2L ce qui signifie qu’il est peu toxique mais légèrement inflammable.

source : https://www.lennoxemea.com/fr/a2l-2/


Ce n’est pas une super nouvelle étant donné qu’on prévoit d’installer ça dans l’habitat individuel ou des ERP.

Cependant, suite à une modification de l’article CH 35 de l’arrêté du 25 juin 1980 par l’arrêté du 10 mai 2019, il est possible pour les ERP de cat. 1 à cat. 4 d’utiliser des fluides inflammables à condition de mettre en œuvre un certain nombre de mesures visant à contrôler le risque.

source https://entreprendre.service-public.fr/vosdroits/F32351

4. Le R32 est moins cher que le R410A

Le R32 est disponible sur le marché à des prix environ 20% inférieurs à ceux du R410A.

à partir d’une dizaine de kg, en bouteille, le R32 coûte 20€ / kg, tandis que le R410A coûte plutôt 25€ / kg

Voilà l’exemple sur un shop en ligne : refrigerantboys.com

source : https://www.refrigerantboys.com/
source : https://www.refrigerantboys.com/

5. À puissance égale, le R32 est plus performant

D’après une étude réalisée par le Center for Environmental Energy Engineering, de l’université du Maryland aux USA, et publiée en 2013, l’utilisation du R32 lors d’un cycle thermodynamique affiche une puissance de 10% supérieure et un COP de 9% supérieur en comparaison avec le même cycle avec du R410A.

Le R32 est donc un excellent candidat pour remplacer le R410A dans les applications de climatisations et de pompes à chaleur

R290 : l’autre gaz frigorigène naturel qui remplace le R410A

Nous parlons beaucoup du R32 qui, il est vrai, est présent dans de nombreuses pompes à chaleur nouvelle génération déjà pour plusieurs marques, dont Daikin ou Atlantic, mais d’autres marques telles que NIBE la Suédoise ou Vaillant L’Allemande, mais encore Wolf ou Dimplex, ont fait le choix d’un gaz encore plus propre. C’est un gaz qu’on connait bien, puisqu’il s’agit du R290 également connu sous le nom de propane.

Très utilisé en bouteille pour alimenter une cuisinière par exemple, il s’agit d’un gaz de pétrole liquéfié très résistant au froid, mais surtout bien moins nocif pour la couche d’ozone que les HFC puisque son GWP ou PRG est de 3 et son ODP de 0. NIBE, Vaillant, Wolf et Dimplex, tous européens, font donc le choix en faveur de l’environnement, mais il y a un mais.

En effet ce gaz très intéressant d’un point de vue écologique (et économique puisqu’il vaut à l’écriture de cet article moins de 2€ le kg), est malheureusement encore plus inflammable que le R32, puisqu’il est classé A3 c’est à dire hautement inflammable selon la norme NIOSH citée un peu plus haut, et oblige donc a prendre plus de précautions.

Caractéristiques du gaz réfrigérant naturel R290 ou propane

Il y a encore Stiebel Eltron le grand spécialiste allemande de la pompe à chaleur, qui a décidé quant à lui d’utiliser le R454C, pour ses HPA depuis le 01.01.2021. Ce gaz a un PRG de 148, et des propriétés thermodynamiques excellentes permettant comme le R290 de faire de la haute température jusque 75°C.

Conclusion

Le R32 en tant que HFC nouvelle génération, possède de nombreux avantages qui justifie son emploi pour remplacer le R410A. Son inconvénient majeur réside dans son inflammabilité, obligeant les fabricants de matériel à mettre en œuvre des mesure protectrices renforcées pour éviter tout incendie et toute catastrophe qui pourrait en découler. Les fabricants japonais ou français on opté pour le R32.

Cependant côté européen on préfère le R290 ou propane car plus écolo, mais plus inflammable également. Ses propriétés thermodynamiques sont très bonnes et se rapprochent de celles du gaz très répandu que fut le R22 à son époque : ce qui plait aux constructeurs.

La recherche avance sans cesse, et de nouveau gaz sont déjà à l’étude, qui pourraient s’avérer meilleurs que le R32 ou le R290, mais cela reste à confirmer. Il s’agit notamment des gaz DR-55 and DR-5A qui sont des mélanges HFO HFC. Ces deux présenteraient notamment des performances similaires au gaz de base R410A et aurait un impact environnemental bien plus faible. En fait les possibles candidats en lisse qui sont étudiés pour remplacer le HFC R410A sont sur cette image ci-dessous, mais pour le moment les deux plus sérieux semblent le DR55 et DR5A. Bon ce DR55 n’est pas si nouveau puisqu’il a été révélé par l’entreprise Chemours en 2015 au sommet de Yokohama. Mais cette étude a évalué de manière sérieuse la possibilité qu’il remplace le R410A et soit un rival du R32.

fr_FRFrench (France)